What’s in a Name

meraki

This morning, during my 20 minute drive to work, light-bulb epiphanies were illuminating my heart. My heart yearned to write… to pour everything out onto paper… or screen. I knew I wanted to begin a blog filled with jewels of grace and love such as what had been bestowed upon me during my morning commute. I needed to share what little gifts God had given me in the midst of a situation that seemed giftless, fruitless, and pointless.

WordPress requires a domain name and I contemplated names for close to an hour.

I landed on Meraki Healing. Weird, I know. Who has even heard of the word Meraki?

Meraki is a Greek word that does not have a direct translation in English, which was part of the appeal to me. It means to do something with love, creativity, or soul; to put a piece of yourself into what you are doing. Many who know me intimately know that this is me, other than the fact that the word is tattooed on my wrist.

Over the past 4 years, I have transformed into a braver, wiser version of myself. As my side tattoo is the Italian word for Change, so I have changed and become a Survivor of circumstances imposed upon me by my parents. The past 4 years have contained a journey to healing that I never imagined having to go through… healing from rejection, abandonment, emotional abuse, and more. While this is an everyday battle for me, I know that the Lord is on my side. I know that residing in Him is where I find acceptance, love, and all of the things my parents could not, would not, and will not give me.

So, here’s to healing! I am so glad to have you along for my journey.

4 thoughts on “What’s in a Name”

Leave a Reply

