Veteran’s Day 2016

I can never understand the sacrifice made by U.S. Veterans. I do not know what it’s like to sacrifice time, safety, health, etc. for this country.

I do know what it’s like to be the child of someone serving… My dad spent time away on the weekends when I was little. Time he could have spent with his family, eating a yummy supper & playing outside with me. He spent 7 months in a war-torn country just a few years ago. Time he gave up to go to work everyday in a safe place, be with his dad when my family was figuring out care for him since he had just had a stroke a month before my dad went overseas, and much more.

No, I don’t know the trauma many experience. No, I don’t know what it’s like to have to give up a body part due to injuries. No, I don’t know what it’s like to lose friends you have the most unique bond with.

I do know that I was taught a love for country. A love that burns red, white & blue 365 days a year. It was passed from my Navy-serving Papaw to my Air Force-serving Daddy & on to me.

So to all you flag-burning, embarrassing, ignorant, whiny, adult-babies- do you even know what has been done to allow you to speak your mind?

I just learned yesterday that in Thailand, if you speak badly against their leader, you’re in for it. I have learned recently that in China, you can’t watch church sermons online, because there is THAT tight of a watch on your religion & internet activity…

I will never have an all-encompassing view of just how great we have it here, as I will probably never get to spend extensive time in other countries. I will never have an all-encompassing view of just how hard it is to serve this country in the military.

I do know that the MREs (the pre-packaged meals the military has to eat) are NASTY, DISGUSTING & DRY… REALLY dry. Want to know how I know that? Well, my oh so thoughtful dad thought it was a good idea to bring leftover MREs to eat when he took my sister & I camping. It wasn’t our favorite, but it did feel cool to eat what those brave soldiers eat.

SO thank a vet today, because, if nothing else, they’ve had to rely on MREs as their sustenance…

THANK YOU to my dad, Master Sergeant M. Johnston, for using MREs to teach us about sacrifice, for always teaching us to be grateful that God placed us in this great  country & that He instilled in the hearts of many to serve & protect us in the military.

Leave a Reply

