Thanksgiving Food Coma

I’m sitting in my bed, tummy full of deliciousness & figurative tank of energy empty.

I endured another holiday with the shell of my dad & his wife.

While a lot of my thinking was geared towards them, there were many sweet moments in between…

Literal sweets, like Strawberry Pretzel Salad.

The big smile on the little face of my cousin’s baby girl, while saying, “KK!” (That’s my cousin-aunt name. Three of my cousins are like my brothers, so I’m a cousin-aunt to their kids.)

Starting our time off with a prayer circle. I just couldn’t help but think how incredibly blessed I am to be apart of a family that prays. My grandmother prayed, both of my uncles, both of my aunts, my cousin, etc. I let their words run over me like warm water in the shower on a chilly morning.

Everyone laughing harmoniously when my cousin’s toddler-aged son said, “Amen,” at the end of the prayer time.

Enjoying time in the sunshine, since it was uncharacteristically warm for this time of year.

Hearing my dad laugh unabashedly.

Time spent with my cousin & his son around a stump fire, listening to the bugs sing their song as the moon shone brighter & the stars became visible.

Yes, I experienced some anxiety & some tears were shed as I was getting my hair curled by my sister while getting ready. I almost didn’t make the short trek up the stairs. I almost let my fear consume me, control me.

The Lord blessed me immensely for going, for choosing faith over fear.

That’s all for now… all that this food coma brain can produce!

I hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving, full of love, laughter & good food!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

