Emotional Byproducts of Rejection Part 2: Drawing Boundaries

Last week, I laid out my journey through the first part of the activity from Uninvited by Lysa TerKeurst. The instructions say to list out the ways rejection make you feel. I filled in the 5 available blanks. (I won’t bore you with a word-for-word rehash, so check out Part 1, where you can see a slideshow laying out the 5 feelings I named: https://merakihealingblog.wordpress.com/2017/04/03/emotional-byproducts-of-rejection-part-1-facing-your-byproducts/?frame-nonce=44d960cec8)

Blanks filled & heart feeling a bit raw, I moved on to the next task, although I didn’t actually complete it right then. I read the instructions & considered the mini-posters I had already labeled. As an artist, I’m always on the mission to make everything more aesthetically pleasing. I was able to incorporate my desire to beautify using washi tape with the next step in the activity… kind of! And it was more of a side-note thing, not something that the activity asked me to do…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As you can see in the slideshow, I added one strip of washi tape to each mini-poster. This visual, while simple, has been monumental for me.

I believe you have to create a boundary in your heart & mind between the enemy’s lies & our Father’s truth. A decision must be made. A conscious effort must be put forth in choosing to throw out ideas or feelings that aren’t true, that are from the enemy.

In my case, the enemy basks in my belief that I’m unlovable, because my parents make no effort to show me that I’m worthy of their love. When I root my worth in other people, I come up short EVERY SINGLE TIME. Rooting my worth in the truth of God’s Word has me overflowing ALL THE TIME. The devil jumps for joy when I live my life based on the lie that I’m unimportant. I can easily & convincingly argue that I am unimportant… the people whose DNA make up my physical being choose a life of selfishness over me every moment that I’m breathing. When I hunker down in that dark, hopeless jail cell of despair, the enemy laughs. He knows that the door to this cell is wide open, ready for my feet to cross from hell-on-earth bondage to heaven-on-earth freedom… I can choose to recognize & embrace what the Lord says is true of me or I can continue living with a false identity.

I have often heard in movies this concept of reinventing oneself… move to another town, start over where nobody knows you, wear the style of clothing you’ve always wanted to wear but didn’t have the guts to, go out with all the guys you want to, even the ones who aren’t your type… the list could go on & on.

What if we reinvented the way we see ourselves, not when we look in the mirror, but when we peer into our innermost being, our souls? What if we started searching in the Bible for what our never-changing, perfectly-righteous, all-loving God says about us? And what if we actually lived our lives with the identity available to us as children of God… loved completely, important for the kingdom’s purpose, apart of His family, seen by the Creator of everything, enough through the blood of Jesus?

That’s the identity I want to operate out of… it comes when I draw the line right here & say that I’m done letting the enemy blind me to what God has in store for me.

So, I teased you a bit & I’m sorry… but I’m not. I didn’t actually get to the 2nd part of the activity instructions. A divine interruption happened & I’m so glad it did.

Leave a Reply

