Looking for Lovely

image1

Isn’t it something when we notice some thing for the first time that we’ve probably looked at or experienced countless times before, but never really seen or been aware of before?

Like the flowers growing right beside where I park my car everyday. Like how my niece has heard my real name said but continues to call me her nickname for me. Like waking up with the ability to see, hear, walk, talk & function independently.

This bright pop of color caught my eye this morning as I walked out to my car to go to work. I wondered how many times in the past week I’ve breezed right past it without ever really seeing it. I wondered how much beauty in my life, tangible items, moments & who people are, that I’d never slowed down enough to notice. How many things am I so accustomed to that I no longer enjoy the beauty & uniqueness that comes along with having those things in my life?

You don’t know what you’ve got until it’s gone. It’s cliche… but it’s true… and sad. What makes us not truly appreciate what we have until we no longer have it?

Change has a way of highlighting the things we are most thankful for.

How would the sum of our lives be different if we made a habit out of really seeing & living gratefully, instead of just looking & just existing? How could we impact others by intentionally seeing & expressing to them the beauty of their beings? How would the sum of our lives be different if we made a habit out of seeing the beauty on the front end, instead of change being the catalyst for our gratitude?

Leave a Reply

